Angels Show up Everywhere…

I was in a hotel in a remote area of Virginia this weekend when I have encountered the subject of my blog this morning, Debra. Yeah, I know it’s a departure from what I usually write about, but in a way it’s not. Debra, in so many ways, is proof of what MOST of America is about.

Since I am trying to lose weight, I now get up early every morning and run, workout, etc. When I travel, I still try to get up early and workout. This weekend was no different. On Saturday morning I got up at 6:30 a.m. and went to the hotel workout room. Like most hotels, the equipment there is okay, but it works so I do what I can.

I got on the treadmill and started. After about five minutes, I heard someone come in the room. It was this short little woman, about mid-fifties, with a bright smile and a bottle of water. With a cheerful good morning, she commented that the heat was too high in the room and then handed me the water. We went on to talk about the normal small talk topics, the weather, why I was in that part of Virginia, etc. Then, we got to more in depth subjects, my family, her job, and politics. I learned so much about Debra. Debra is religious, has a daughter, is a cancer survivor, and works two jobs. She works at a hospital and she works at the hotel. The job at the hotel is a job she loves because she feels she can help serve people. She likes making people happy by manning the breakfast room and making sure everyone can find what they need. As she told me, “God called me to serve people, so this is what I do.”

Throughout the weekend, Debra was there helping recommend restaurants, cleaning up people’s dishes from breakfast, and just sharing cheerful conversation.

I am an experienced traveler. Usually, the people who man these breakfast areas are not happy souls. They are barely seen as they check the breakfast offerings every once in a while to make sure there is food there. They never seem to care if you get anything to eat or not. I guess I can’t blame them, since waiting on people for what is probably a small wage can’t be very exciting. I’m sure they are not on the top of the food chain for hotel staff and consideration. Many times they double as the desk clerk.

Debra is different. She is an angel. Yeah, I can hear you now. “Oh, no, one of those crazy religious discussions about heaven, hell, etc. ” Not really.  Yes, I am religious in my own way. I am not a church goer, but I believe in God and that he has a plan for each one of us. I have this belief that God puts people in our lives in many ways to show us something, teach us something, or even just comfort us. These are his angels. Debra is one of them. So, what was she there to show me?

I think I know. I have been somewhat down lately because of the constant news stories telling us the stupid things people do. I have been sad that people like that horrible dance teacher and Honey Boo Boo have become overnight celebrities on T.V. even though  one is a horrible bully who shouldn’t be allowed to work with children and the other shows the most base, common, stupid aspects of a family from the south. I have been wondering why our society wants to view the dregs of society rather than those who actually have merit. But Debra showed me that there are good people out there who work hard, care about others, and have a strong moral core. In her own way, she gave me real hope ( not the Obama chanting comatose kind of hope). She gave me hope that maybe this country isn’t doomed to be over run by those who want something for nothing, who vote for someone because he will give them freebies. For that, I thank her. And I thank God for sending her.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

