The Nature of Dissent

I tend to have a long memory when it comes to hypocrisy. I don’t know why, I just do. I think this quality goes hand in hand with me holding a grudge. I tend to do that too. It’s a flaw that I am working on, but I am still struggling with it.

Let me take you back about seven years. George Bush was President ( You have to  remember him, right? I mean, according to Obama and the Democrats, George Bush is responsible for every ill in the world all the way from conflict in the Middle East to athlete’s foot. Who could forget such a powerful and impactful man?) Anyway, I remember  this time clearly. What I remember the most is the daily beating Bush took from the media and from every Democratic politician in the world. They demonized him, called him stupid, and voiced their dissent for every single thing he did. And when I say it occurred daily, I mean it. When Republicans commented on how appropriate ( or inappropriate) some of it was, we were told that it was our right and duty as Americans to dissent. I remember Hillary Clinton yelling and screaming about it in some speech she made. Here is the quote:

“I am sick and tired of people who say that if you debate and you disagree with this administration somehow you’re not patriotic. We should stand up and say we are Americans and we have a right to debate and disagree with any administration.”

She was quite red in the face when she said this.

So, I guess it strikes me funny now that every time we post or make a comment regarding the President and his current policies, we get comments like this from ” Shirley”:

Wow, what a mean bunch! You should be ashamed of yourselves. Let’s get together and work as a team, never mind the dissention route, it’s a waste of energy and nothing good comes out of it! Don’t read what celebrities say if you don’t care. Use your time wisely and figure out what YOU can do to make this country a better place to live.

This was on a Facebook posting regarding Beyoncé and her posting of this mature comment, ” Take that mitches.” The comment was about the recent election results. People weren’t real happy about  Beyoncé’s rude reference to Romney supporters and were saying so.  Shirley got really upset with folks because they were taking Beyoncé to task over this.  So, her thought was to just stop dissent. Period.

What troubles me most about her quote is this part, “it’s a waste of energy and nothing good comes out of it.” That part bothers me the most. I think of all the times that people have stood by and let horrible things happen without saying a word. The Holocaust is one time that springs to mind immediately. I also wonder what would have happened had our founding fathers just “gotten together and worked as a team” with good old King George. If they had followed Shirley’s advice, we would all be bowing to Queen Elizabeth right now.

Dissent, phrased properly and backed with common sense and facts, is vital.  As Americans, we owe it to ourselves and our country to dissent when we think things are wrong. One of the problems we have in our country right now is that people don’t know HOW to present dissent without becoming personal, rude, and obnoxious. They name call instead of presenting facts; make generalities instead of delivering substance. On  the flip side, they can’t accept dissent either. Anyone who dissents against this administration is called racist and a “hater.”

Dissent is risky, and those of us who dissent need to know the consequences. Just because you have the right to express an opinion doesn’t mean that you escape that expression without consequences. People can decide not to hang out with you, be your friend on Facebook, or, if  you are a celebrity, purchase your product or support your movies, music, etc. In the worse case scenario, people can suffer monetary and/or political consequences.  It’s a chance we take when we express ourselves.

I guess it is easier not to hear dissent or dismiss it with names and insults. Or even more, it’s easier to tell people to shut up.  But, I promise you this, Shirley and all of you who want us to be quiet, I am not going to stop dissenting.

Oh, and by the way, Beyoncé, you have to accept the consequence for your insulting little post. I know I am only one person, but you can forget about me ever buying any music you produce or any product you endorse. Consequences.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

