Bruce ,Come Take Care of Me

I have to write Bruce Sprinsteen a letter. Today. I just heard that he is now shilling, oops I mean singing, at Obama rallies throughout the country. He has a new song called “We Take Care of Our Own.”  Here are the lyrics:

I’ve been knocking on the door that holds the throne

I’ve been looking for the map that leads me home

I’ve been stumbling on good hearts turned to stone

The road of good intentions has gone dry as bone

We take care of our own We take care of our own

Wherever this flag’s flown We take care of our own From Chicago to New Orleans

From the muscle to the bone

From the shotgun shack to the Super Dome

There ain’t no help, the cavalry stayed home,

There ain’t no one hearing the bugle blowin

‘We take care of our own

We take care of our own

Wherever this flag’s flown

We take care of our own

Where’re the eyes,

the eyes with the will to see

Where’s the hearts that run over with mercy

Where’s the love that has not forsaken me

Where’s the work that’ll set my hands, my soul free

Where’s the spirit to reign rain over me

Where’s the promise, from sea to shining

  Where’s the promise, from sea to shining sea

Wherever this flag is flown

Wherever this flag is flown

Wherever this flag is flown We take care of our own

We take care of our own

Wherever this flag’s flown

We take care of our own

We take care of our own

We take care of our own

Wherever this flag’s flown

We take care of our own

Did you read them all? Me either. I got tired reading the same five phrases over and over. And, may I say Bruce, your writing skills are going down hill. Maybe they were always that bad and I just didn’t notice. But, I digress….

I guess the point of the song is that the Good Guys, Obama and the Dems, want to take care of everyone and the Bad Guys, Romney and the Republicans, want everyone to die.  I mean if you don’t get the New Orleans and Super Dome reference, you are just clueless. Blame Bush, remember? That’s what I got out of it. So, here’s my thought.

Bruce, you are right. We DO take care of our own. And, since we do, I am sending you the following:

  • my electric bill
  • my health insurance bill
  • my mortgage bill
  • my daughter’s tuition bill
  • my cable bill
  • my cell phone bill ( I didn’t get a free one, darn it)
  • my car payment
  • the vet bill
  • my grocery bill

‘Cause you see, Bruce, I am struggling. After thirty one years of working I am now on retirement. My husband works hard every day. But, these bills are JUST TOO MUCH. I need you to take care of me. I mean, you are a rich member of the one percent, right? And, I am just a regular person. So, I need you Bruce. I know you will agree, your song says it. And, if you don’t well that’s just mean.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

